shlock the vote

shlock the vote

{08.12.16}

 

even though I barely believe

in the American democratic voting system

I occasionally feel like

I’m keeping my vote

as some sort of secret weapon

a throwing knife in my back pocket

a bandolier of grenades.

sadly, I know

with all the logic and reason

and pragmatism in my heart

and a stomach full of cynicism

that my one tiny little vote

doesn’t really mean shit.

it poses no real threat

in action or apathy

to those supposedly relying on it

for the purpose of their ascension

it is just a grain of sand on a beach

indistinguishable from its countless neighbors

underfoot along with the rest of the expanse

Leave a Reply

