A Screaming of Wasps

a screaming of wasps

{06.22.15}

 

my mouth bore wasps in my sleep

they all died, sunken, shriveled,

and prostrate to gods they never imagined themselves

I could feel every single tarsus

drag along my lips before flight

it was the fire I spoke in my trance

the terror of REM sleep’s gateway

I would scream anxieties and bite the night

all my progenies, six-four-or-two-legged

faced death before they knew life

tongues I spewed forth in the gloaming

arrived from other planes of existence

and shouted the destructions of fallacies

the gospel of extinction

some nights, I would awake

swarmed by my offspring, clouded in a fear

not for my own safety or theirs, but

for the notion of existence itself

 

I could choke on the void, yet

not the forthcoming stream of wings from my gaping maw

headed with a fury towards death

and I will drown in the hollowed husks

of my nightmarish kind

 

Leave a Reply

