Baseball Trivia 043017: My Birthday Edition

Of my 24.3 career WAR, almost all of it (21.5) came in the six seasons I played between the ages of 25 and 30 years old. That played out for an average of 4.2 WAR per 650 PAs, which is All-Star caliber. During that span, I hit 181 homers, 186 doubles, drove in 596 runs and had a beefy .894 OPS. Seasonal averages 31 doubles, 30 homers, 99 RBIs. Despite my consistent production during those years, I was only an All-Star thrice, a Silver Slugger once, and never finished higher than 7th in my league’s MVP voting. I did win the Rookie of the Year award my age-25 season, however. Prior to my age-30 season, I was involved in a three-team trade that involved players with 697 career home runs. In exercising a buyout option of an unfortunately over-inflated free-agent contract, the team that had signed me paid me over $21 million for two seasons I did not play. Astrologically, I’m a Virgo, which means I deal with unknown situations very well and that probably helped me in some of near-end-of-career struggles (mostly due to injury). Who is this Gonzaga University alumni?

Leave a Reply

